Kitten Pictures + Goodwill Adventuring

At some point I should probably do a longer post on the subject, for for now, suffice it to say that after my late, great, Best Cat in the Universe Siamese passed away in March, I about went crazy, not having an involved-in-everything companion. And, to make a long story short, I now have two 17 week old Oriental kittens. They are littermates, but Cassia is a cinnamon shorthair and Timo a cinnamon silver mackerel tabby longhair (because cat genetics). They are very intelligent, very adorable, and very naughty.

Smartphones being the ever ready things they are, I end up with rather a lot of photos of the little guys, but I’ve been trying to take some photos of them together every weekend, to sort of track them. These typically end up being nap time photos, because it’s the only time they stand still!

Timo is a very sweet, mellow, cuddly guy, Cassia tends to be hyperactive and inquisitive. Note how her expression in all of these is basically, “What? For why?” Timo just goes with the flow, dude.

I spent part of today assembling their cat tower. I bought this as an Amazon Daily Deal weeks ago, but I’ve been too intimidated to unbox it.

Turned out to be not terribly difficult, though I will say assembling a cat tower with cats in the vicinity makes for a challenging enterprise.

Also today, I went to Goodwill for the first time since…gosh, before Christmas? The few months before Tam died, it seems like his needs were all consuming, and then I didn’t feel much like going anywhere, and then there were kittens! But this was good. I’d forgotten how relaxing it can be to just browse, not looking for anything in particular. And I done pretty good. Came home with two pairs of decent (and recent) jeans, a few serviceable if not terribly exciting tops, a new-with-tags Pendleton sweater, a stack of books (John Scalzi’s Locked In, Rex Stout’s Five of a Kind, Diana Wynne Jones’ The Merlin Conspiracy), and a couple of good CDs (Verdi’s La Traviata with Luciano Pavarotti and Joan Sutherland, plus Vivaldi’s Four Seasons by the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra conducted by Pinchas Zukerman).

Oh, and a grater, to replace James the Grater (another Goodwill find, years ago), whose rustiness can no longer be ignored or condoned, no matter how cheerful he may be.

Now I’m making Carolina style pulled pork ((vinegar sauce RULES!) in the Instant Pot using this recipe, except that I’m cooking it on the pressure cooker setting for about two hours. May be too much, may be too little. Either way, pretty sure it will be pretty edible.

For dessert, in theory there will be fresh pineapple. In practice…well. Here I am, just a summer and a bit short of 40 years old, and a long time lover of fresh pineapple…yet, to my knowledge, I have never actually purchased and sliced one myself. Feelin’ a bit nervous and shy, folks. But I have a sharp knife and a YouTube video, and I’mma gonna give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

