Untitled (Because.)

I STINK AT TITLES.

Once upon a time, this wasn’t such a bad issue. Yeah, I had stacks of notebooks full of untitled stories laying around. Yeah, I had to refer to works in progress by awkward terms like “this space story about amnesia and pirates and stuff I’m currently working on.” But I got by.

But, as it turns out, you can’t really submit a story to a publisher with the title “Space Story about Amnesia and Pirates and Stuff.” Nor can you call them all Dave or Bob or Sue. The title is supposed to be catchy, search engine worthy, maybe quirky, but never corny or cheesy.

I’m just not good at it.

You know what would be awesome? It would be SO COOL if someone could just design a program that was smart enough to scan a story enough to get the gist of it and list off a bunch of potential titles, based on relevant song titles/lyrics or sayings or Shakespeare snippets or what-have-you.

Is there an app for that? There should be an app for that. I would pay good money for an app for that, if I had good money.

Which I don’t.

Drat.

Leave a Reply

